goals.

I can achieve a new goal by incorporating it

into my already-existing routine as a habit.

For example, taking my vitamins daily was a new goal of mine.

I incorporated this new goal by attaching it to a habit that already existed—

the simple act of climbing into bed at night.

Now, every night when I climb into bed,

it triggers my mind to take my vitamins.

I also keep my vitamins in clear view on my night table

to help reinforce this habit.

Attaching the goal to a habit creates an action plan to follow

and this makes the likelihood that the goal will be achieved

much more probable.

Each night when I complete my new goal, I remind myself of two things:

1.  This goal is helping me to be my healthiest, happiest and most energized self.

     Reminding myself of the goals’ purpose helps to keep up my momentum.

2.  I can be so proud of myself (Yay me!) for achieving this goal yet again.

     Celebrating my small victory will trigger my brain to continue to strengthen this habit.

I can also plan ahead for challenges,

such as weaker willpower on a given day,

by phrasing my resistance plan in “if-then” terms:

For example,

If I feel too tired to take my vitamins,

then I will immediately sit up in bed and grab my pill box.”

Creating this kind of plan has been proven to be incredibly effective.

It is just as important for me to practice self-compassion

if I miss a day in achieving my goal

or if my willpower falls short.

It is proven that I am actually more likely to bounce back from a failure

if I am kind to myself when I make a mistake. 

The above method can be utilized with any goal,

large or small, and at any frequency.

I’m very excited for this opportunity

and this new approach to achieving my goals.

Leave a comment